Shadab Khan and Rashid Khan at toss - PCB

Afghanistan secured a historic win over Pakistan during the first T20I of the three-match series in Sharjah on Friday.

Chasing a target of only 93 runs, Afghanistan reached home in 17.5 overs for the loss of four wickets. 

This was the first win for Afghanistan over Pakistan in international cricket.

Earlier, Pakistan had set Afghanistan a paltry target of 93 runs after skipper Shadab Khan won the toss and decided to bat first.

After a brilliant bowling display by Afghanistan, Pakistan were restricted to 92-9 in 20 overs.  

This was Pakistan's lowest total after batting full 20 overs in T20Is. Previous was 96-9 vs Australia in 2014.

Imad Wasim top-scored with 18 runs in 32 balls, whereas Saim Ayub and Tayyab Tahir scored 17 and 16 runs, respectively. 

Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi claimed two wickets each.

It must be noted that opener Saim Ayub, middle-order batter Tayyab Tahir and right-arm quicks Zaman Khan and Ihsanullah are making their Pakistan debuts.

Meanwhile, top-order batter Abdullah Shafique, all-rounders Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim, and Azam Khan marked their returns to the Pakistan side.

Shadab is leading the side in the absence of Babar Azam, who has been rested for the series.

The Afghanistan T20Is are Pakistan’s first since their T20 World Cup campaign in Australia last year, where they were the runners-up.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Saim Ayub, Mohammad Haris, Abdullah Shafique, Tayyab Tahir, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Zaman Khan and Ihsanullah

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan (c), Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq