Australia vs Oman: Preview, match time, squads and prediction of T20 World Cup 2024 match - Cricket News | Cricket Updates | Match Report


Wednesday, June 5, 2024

Australia vs Oman: Preview, match time, squads and prediction of T20 World Cup 2024 match


Mitchell Marsh (L) and Aqib Ilyas (R). - ICC

Australia will commence their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign with a clash against Oman at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

The Aussies will be led by the all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who captains a team mix of experienced campaigners and rising stars.

Test captain Pat Cummins, veteran opener David Warner, all-rounders Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, and the lethal pace duo of Josh Hazlewood and Mitch Starc are all part of the squad.

Notably absent are Test stalwarts Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschagne. However, young talent Jake Fraser-McGurk has been named as the travelling reserve, alongside Matthew Short.

They are eyeing to achieve the elusive triple crown of World Test Champions, ODI World Champions, and T20 Champions

On the other side of the pitch, Oman did not have the best start to the tournament and are looking to bounce back from a heart-wrenching defeat against Namibia.

In their last match, Oman defended a small target of 109 runs but ultimately fell short in a Super Over, losing by 11 runs.

Captain Aqib Ilyas and seasoned players like Naseem Khushi, Zeeshan Maqsood, and Kaleemullah will be crucial as Oman aims to deliver a memorable performance against this formidable Australian side.

Match timings

Australia vs Oman match timings

Local time: 8:30pm (June 5)

GMT: 12:30am (June 6)

PST: 5:30am (June 6)


Australia: Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Travelling Reserves: Jake Fraser-McGurk, Matt Short

Oman: Aqib Ilyas (c), Zeeshan Maqsood, Kashyap Prajapati, Pratik Athavale, Ayaan Khan, Shoaib Khan, Mohammad Nadeem, Naseem Khushi, Mehran Khan, Bilal Khan, Rafiullah, Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Shakeel Ahmad, Khalid Kail.

Reserves: Jatinder Singh, Samay Shrivastava, Sufyan Mehmood, Jay Odedra


Given the formidable team composition and consistent performances in ICC tournaments, Australia are the clear favourites to win.

No comments:

Post a Comment