West Indies opt to bat against Uganda in T20 World Cup match - Cricket News | Cricket Updates | Match Report


Saturday, June 8, 2024

West Indies opt to bat against Uganda in T20 World Cup match

Both captains with Ian Bishop (L) at the toss. - ICC 

West Indies won the toss and decided to bat first against Uganda on Sunday at the Providence Stadium, Guyana, during the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024. 

Windies, who are playing their second match, began their campaign with a victory against Papua New Guinea (PNG) but it wasn't a convincing one. 

Uganda, on the other hand, lost by 125 runs against Afghanistan but a spirited performance in their next match against PNG helped them bag their first-ever T20 World Cup win. 

Both teams have not made any changes to their lineup for this match. 

"We are going to bat first. Looks like a typical Guyana wicket - low and slow. Hopefully we can put some runs on the board and defend it. It's still a wicket where you got to play good cricket shots. 110-120 is not defendable. Once we improve in all three departments, we should be good. Last few days we did some training and resting," Windies captain Rovman Powell said at the toss.

Meanwhile, Uganda skipper Brian Masaba said: "Probably would have batted first as well. It's a bit difficult to chase. It's what we have got. We have to bowl well. Historic moment for us [win against PNG]. It's back to business for us. Just try to get the boys to focus again. We'll try to come out here and give our best, makes sure we get our processes right and try put West Indies under the pressure. 

"It's about reminding the guys what they've done well in the past as a batting unit. Juts making sure they keep it nice and simple. Focus on the ball again. If we can do that, we can get a decent score."


Uganda XI: Roger Mukasa, Simon Ssesazi (wk), Robinson Obuya, Riazat Ali Shah, Alpesh Ramjani, Dinesh Nakrani, Juma Miyagi, Kenneth Waiswa, Brian Masaba (c), Cosmas Kyewuta, Frank Nsubuga.

West Indies XI: Brandon King, Johnson Charles, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Roston Chase, Rovman Powell (c), Sherfane Rutherford, Andre Russell, Romario Shepherd, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie.

No comments:

Post a Comment